E.A.T @ Food Republique

I’m going to warn you all. Yes. This is hard sell. I am selling my friend’s cousin’s cafe HARD.

This good friend of mine, named Little Gold Fish – we named her that way because she has really big eyes, like Mila Kunis. I don’t know what she sees in my blog, but I’m going to do this right for her. So there will be no swearing (sorry to disappoint). Okay, maybe just censored. I really can’t help it.

It was just last week, LanTing and I were invited to Food Republique to dine with LGF. I left my wallet at home because it was on the house. *smile smile*

It was passed dinner time, I arrived at 8-ish, because I want some privacy for the 3 of us and a chance to be completely vain with my new camera.

This is what the shop looks like from the outside. For those of you who are like me, spent 10 years going from one cyber cafe to the other. Food Republique is situated near TopSpeed Cyber Cafe, which recently just been renovated, and now it looks like crap. It’s too damn bright! Anyway, back to Food Republique. I can actually convince my mum to eat here, because she smokes. They are very thoughtful to provide 2 tables outside of the shop for smokers. However, due to the environment, I don’t think eating outside is comfortable, so I would suggest you to stay in, and to not smoke for 1 hour. Is that too damn hard? No, right?

Walking in, you can see a bar on your right. There’s usually a very cute waitress over there, but when I came in she went in the kitchen, I can only assume she hates my camera, or just the camera. There’s a TV if you feel like you have nothing to say to the person eating with you, you can always just stare at the screen to make the screen seems more interesting than the person you’re eating with.

The seats are comfortable, so are the lights, it helps to set the mood, a relaxing environment to eat. There are a lot of Elvis portrait hanging on the walls, maybe the chef is a fan? It’s just an expression, don’t guess.

Walking in, this is what it looks like. Every table is quite distant, to leave it’s customer with a little bit of privacy while they dine. So the place doesn’t look too cramp. I actually like the color theme and the lights that are used here. It’s not too yellow, and not striking bright. Dining here makes me feel comfortable.

Let me show you where’d we sit!

Yea, there’s another TV here for you to play the pretend game. The only person you can see in this picture is my best friend – LGF. She reserved the table for us. She’s going to be a future lawyer. I’m going to hire her. To clean up my mess one day. I’m pretty sure I’m going to have a lot of mess… Weeee~~~

Couple sits here. Please remain at the romantic side while the single gang remains..at..the single..side.. whatever.

LGF showing us the menu~ Yeah! I starved myself the whole day just for this!!!!! And you know what?! I should’ve started starving myself 1 day before!!! Why~~~

Once vanity started, it can’t be stopped.

This is the man of the cafe. He is taking down our orders. All recommended by LGF.

Now that we’ve placed our orders. It’s camvanity time~ Sway Chweese~

Doesn’t she look adorable? To the extend you want to slap her so hard her teeth will bleed? Yea, I know how you feel. This is my best friend. =]

Oh sh*t this comes behind, but I already posted it.. So just, whatever.

Bruschetta Appetizer

An improved version of Bruschetta Appetizer, I love this! I was trying to be artistic to take pictures of .. things.. half.. I’m not an art student, I have no idea whether this is artistic or not. The flavor is more filing and heavier than the italian version, Sweet basil leafs and spices on the toasted loaf, roma tomatoes and garlic. So much better. *YUM*
In case my picture taking skill is really sh*tty! This is the whole plate Okay! Brûle en enter !

Fried Polenta

From the looks of it. I thought it was the mac and cheese from the ones you see in Fridays. But it’s not. I will give you some hint, but you have to try this yourself. Corn, butter, and cheese. Go figure. Or better, visit Food Republique.
This is what it looks like inside…. Do you feel like having a bite now? Do you?
The secret is to eat it while it’s hot! Dip it into the chili sauce and bite. I actually think the appetizer alone can be quite filling already. Thank God LGF stopped me from stuffing myself with the appetizers.
More to come!

Salmon Ala’Carbonara Pasta

In the usual Salmon Carbonara you would see bacons so that the pasta have a hint of saltiness. The sliced tomatoes adds color to the dish to make it more colorful and also to ease your guilt of the creamy part. This is Ting’s favorite! XD

Pan Fried Milked Fish

This light, butterly dish is my favorite. The fish is soft and milky, the butter is well-absorbed in the fish. It is very aromatic, and the lingering of the butter taste in your mouth is very addictive. However, three slices is a bit too much. Personally, is a lovely dish.

Char-grilled Caramalized Cheesy Bacon Burger

The bacon sits on the cheese beef cushion that was handle carefully in the house. The smell of the bacon blesses my nose and my mouth. The beef was flowing with juices, makes it the main star of the burger. The offerings was pretty standard (pickles, tomatoes, onions, and  sliced cabbage). I love my burger with more onions, perhaps a nice slice of tomato or two, the burger could’ve done without the sliced cabbage.

Grilled Chicken Chop

It’s marinated with Food Republique’s very own secret sauce. The chicken is wrapped with spices and grilled to perfection. It’s a nice dish that’ll warm your stomach and walk away satisfied.

Mushroom Soup

It is a simple mushroom soup, it was creamy, with button mushroom at the bottom.

Chocolate Brownies with Vanilla Iscream

Everything is extra with Food Republique. Two slice of chocolate fudge sponge slapped on the plate with a vanilla ice-cream on top. Plate decorate by chocolate sauce makes me want to lick it off after I finished. The shell of the chocolate fudge sponge is absolutely crispy. It’s totally perfect for a chocolate maniac like me!

Banana Pancake

I love banana, I love pancakes, I also love vanilla ice-cream. So what happens when you put everything in the same plate? Gahh, I swear I will come back here and swallow this whole plate!

Perhaps you can visit Food Republique in the morning for the Banana Pancake, and then at night for desert. If you’re crazy enough! If anyone of you did that. I will personally buy you a meal @ Food Republique! Grace Teng, you doesn’t count~~~!!

Ting is going to feast! 

Me and Grace (Little Goldfish). 

Grace, LanTing, and Me.

Meet Bi Wen. Grace’s little sister. Who also works at Food Republique when she has free time in her hand. =] 

Food Republique chef. 

Lunch Menu

Food Republique’s lunch menu available from 12pm – 3pm.

Here’s a map provided for you who are interested to visit Food Republique after reading my post. =]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “E.A.T @ Food Republique

Leave a comment